The American Chemical Society (ACS), the SENCER Centers of Innovation Southwest and South, and Bellhaven University welcome you to Jackson, Mississippi and to our symposium with a theme of STEM Education in Mississippi: Issues and Innovations. Throughout a full-day of activities, we will focus on use of innovative and proven pedagogy to reduce barriers to learning, student success, and retention. Presenters include educators and administrators from throughout the country. 

We look forward to seeing you at Belhaven’s Kim Center -- Friday, September 29, 2017! Remember to REGISTER so we know how many meals to prepare!

Google’s directions to Belhaven University.  
avatar for Gary Anderton

Gary Anderton

Engineers Research Development Center (ERDC)
Director of Human Capital
Gary Anderton, PhD is currently serving as the ERDC Director of Human Capital where he leads the ERDC’s enterprise-level efforts in recruitment, integration, employee development, training, awards, and succession planning.  Before assuming this ERDC senior leader role in 2015, Gary was a supervisory research civil engineer for the Airfields and Pavements Branch in the Geotechnical and Structures Laboratory.  He served in this Branch for 29 years as a researcher, program manager, team leader, and as the Branch Chief.  Gary specialized in the field of pavement materials and construction technology during his technical career, authoring over sixty technical publications in this area.  He deployed to active military theaters on four occasions and traveled to locations all over the world to assist in the construction of vital military pavement systems.  Gary has served as an adjunct faculty member at Mississippi State University and Jackson State University, teaching, advising, and mentoring many graduate engineering students and ERDC employees.  Dr. Anderton has a Bachelor’s Degree in Petroleum Engineering (1983) and a Master’s Degree in Civil Engineering (1991), both from Mississippi State University.  He has a Doctorate Degree in Civil Engineering (1997) from the University of Texas